top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnecia Ascalon

Small town girls and boys


There is such a whimsy surrounding big cities. New York. Los Angeles. London. Paris. And there's a good reason. Cities are awesome! From stunning architecture, landmarks, historical context, museums, and cool restaurants and shops, there are countless opportunities for experiences. However, there is something to be said about the charm of a small town; a place where everyone knows your name.


I grew up in a really small community that literally had only one street that ran through downtown. While living there, I never appreciated all of the things that my neighborhood had to offer. Now, in my writing, I think that I can find ways to accurately celebrate a tiny community. Here are some factors and small town staples to consider when creating a fictional town of your own for a story.


T R A D I T I O N S

Most places have different kinds of annual traditions and those can be fun, grounding elements to add into story. Things like a summer bash, Thanksgiving parade, or Christmas tree lighting ceremony were all events that happened each year in my town. A sense of loyalty or pride for a community can also stem from these celebrations with the same friends year after year.


F A M I L I A R I T Y

The smaller a community, the more likely it is that people know each other personally. There's a good chance they attend the same school or church. Neighborhood kids probably have known each other since kindergarten. This sense of community familiarity is a hallmark of small towns.


S I N G U L A R I T Y

In a small town, there is usually just "one of everything." One movie theater, one major grocery store, one community high school, etc. Chain restaurants, like McDonalds and Taco Bell, definitely need to be involved in the story. Taking spontaneous trips to Sonic or walking around Target were things I did regularly for fun.


L O C A L

Speaking of chain restaurants, on the flip side, the opening of a new bar or restaurant is the talk of the town. I think that there can be stronger support for a local business in a small town rather than in a metropolitan environment because patrons are more likely to actually know and have a relationship with the business owners,


B O R E D O M

I think anyone who grew up in a small town has felt a sense of restlessness with their surroundings. Having a lack of options for "fun" things to do means that characters need to be creative when trying to find new ways to have fun.



Growing up in a small community can also play into a character's personality. Maybe they're eager to escape the small town with little opportunity and spread their wings elsewhere. Maybe they like the security they're upbringing has given them and are anxious to go somewhere new. There are plenty of ways to make a small hometown relevant to a character's life.


Here are some TV show small towns to look to for inspiration!

Stars Hollow, Connecticut from Gilmore Girls

Hawkins, Indiana from Stranger Things

Tree Hill, North Carolina from One Tree Hill

Dillon, Texas from Friday Night Lights

Capeside, Massachusetts from Dawson's Creek

Outer Banks, North Carolina from Outer Banks


Did you grow up in a big city, small town, or somewhere in between? Let me know!

bottom of page