top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnecia Ascalon

Black girl magic

Updated: Oct 14, 2019


Race has always been a weird topic for me. I didn't grow up discussing it, or even thinking about it. I never read any books growing up that didn't star a white person. Most of the books I read were about pretty, thin, white girls and, don't get me wrong, I LOVED them. The Clique, Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars...all of those early 2000s teen series. They were my jam and I still read them whenever I'm feeling a little nostalgic.


Books have always been the most powerful influence in my life. As a kid, everything that I thought was "cool" or "interesting" originated in the pages of a story. Even though I read Esperanza Rising and got half-way through The Joy Luck Club, I wonder how my views about race might be a little different if I had read more diverse books during my childhood.


The whole point of reading is to either relate to the story or gain perspective on a life different than your own. I think reading such a selective group of books, especially with strikingly similar characters and plots, deprived me a full-figured view of society.


Here are some novels starring black women (that also take place in America) I recommend.


Americanah Smart, captivating Ifemelu moved to the US from Nigeria for university. The story centers around her romantic relationships and perspectives on American and African lifestyles.


Poseur Four diverse, fashion-forward LA high school students are forced to work together designing clothes. A smartly written novel featuring intricate drawings sketched by the author.


An American Marriage A couple's relationship is sucker punched when the husband is wrongfully accused of rape.


Everything, Everything An intelligent girl with a life threatening illness falls in love with the boy next door.


Kindred Part of the wave of black sci-fi literature, the author seamlessly melds together time travel and American slavery.


Their Eyes Were Watching God Set in early 1900s America, Janie jumps from one relationship to the next as she tries to discover who she is and what will make her truly happy.


What's your favorite black novel?


bottom of page