top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnecia Ascalon

My visit to The Hemingway Home


For my honeymoon, my husband and I went to Key West. One place I was super excited to visit while there was The Hemingway Home! I'm sure all of the fellow literary lovers can understand the hype. In my thoughts, Ernest Hemingway has this mystic about him. I wonder what it would be like to hang out with him and the other depressed, melancholy 20th century writers of his day. Here are highlights from my visit:


The Cats

There are so many cats! I had no idea Hemingway was so obsessed with felines but they are apparently a staple part of the home. There are very adorable and one friendly cat hopped up on my lap to take a nap and it was the highlight of my entire honeymoon.


The Architecture

The two-story home features sweeping wrap-around porches, beautiful archways, and even a bridge that ran from the main house to Hemingway's writing studio. Some of the rooms have been preserved and I loved getting to see the vintage patterned tiles and ornate mirrors. I kept thinking, Hemingway literally stepped right there on those same tiles! His writing studio has been completed preserved. It was awesome to get a glimpse into the place he found most inspiring.


The Pool

One interesting thing I learned was that Hemingway built the first pool in Key West. The construction was a massive financial burden, but like a real-life Gatsby, Hemingway did not care and threw extravagant parties that attracted people from all over the island. It was soooo hot outside when we went and I was dying to jump in. The pool is hidden away from the street with bushes like a secret jungle oasis, which to me seems like the coolest place to attend a party or rendezvous with a lover.


Books

Now for the most important part. What book did I buy?? I decided to go with A Farewell to Arms. I purchased the copy with the beautiful cover and it's almost too pretty to read. I was between buying A Farewell to Arms and A Moveable Feast, but at the end of the day, the book with the better cover was chosen.


Have any of you had the opportunity to visit a historical literature sight?



bottom of page